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Office of the State Fire Marshal
Statutes and Regulations

Description: The Statue and Regulations course is a two-day course developed for fire prevention
personnel, building officials, and related design professionals. The course will assist in
obtaining an understanding of laws and regulations that effect fire and life safety enforcement
in California and the following:

*The scope and authority of local departments relative to California Statutes and
Regulations.
*The review of Health and Safety Codes that relate to inspection responsibilities.
*The continuing need for awareness of State Fire Safety Laws and Regulations on
local fire jurisdictions.
*The correct understanding and use of modifications to model Building and Fire
Codes.
*The applicability and content of Title 19, California Code of Regulations.
*Relevant fire and life safety information not found in other Building and Fire Codes
or code classes.
This is a State Fire Training (SFT) Fire Service Training and Education Program (FSTEP)
course that is required for the Plan Examiner certification checklist.

Scheduhng: An agency or organization can request that a Statutes and Regulations course be offered in
their area. The host agency/organization is responsible to secure classtroom space that enables
a positive learning environment. The classroom will need a projector, projector screen, and

audio.

The two day class must be requested during consecutive calendar days and is only offered
Tuesday through Thursday to accommodate instructor travel. All course requests must be
received twelve (12) weeks before the first request date and must include:

*Two set of dates for the course to be offered

*Host agency/organization name, point of contact, phone, email

*Training facility name

*Billing information (agency/organization name, attn., mailing address)

*Estimated number of students (not to exceed 50)

Materials: The student PowerPoint and student resources are available for download on the OSFM

website. It is up to the host agency/organization to determine if they will provide the student
material or if it will be the responsibility of the student. OSFM will not provide printed
student handouts.

Cost: The Statutes and Regulations course is instructed exclusively by Office of the State Fire
Marshal personnel. There is no cost for instructors or instructors travel. The hosting
agency/organization is responsible to pay for the FSTEP certificates which are $20.00 per
student and $8.00 shipping per course. Fees are subject to change and can be verified on the
SFT FSTEP - Request for Course Scheduling form. An invoice will be sent to the host
agency/organization after the course is instructed.

Instructors: 7To request the course please email the following instructors:
*Steve Guarino, Chief Fire and Life Safety North steve.guarino(@fire.ca.gov

*Ernie Paez, Chief Fire and Life Safety South ernie.pacz(@fire.ca.gov

*Greg Andersen, Chief Code Development and Analysis greg.andersen@fire.ca.gov



http://osfm.fire.ca.gov/codedevelopment/pdf/Stats&Regs_Student.pdf
http://osfm.fire.ca.gov/codedevelopment/pdf/Stats_RegsStudent.zip
http://osfm.fire.ca.gov/training/pdf/FSTEP-Course-Scheduling_All_(Adobe-Form).pdf
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