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Laws and Regulations Requirements for the Inspection, Testing, and 
Maintenance, of Water Based Fire Protection Systems 

California Code of Regulations Title 19/NFPA 25, 2006 California Edition 
 
Question 1.  Where can I find the law and the regulations that govern the inspection, testing, and 
maintenance of fire protection systems? 
 
Answer:  For the law (statute) see Health and Safety Code (H&S) 13195.  You can view the law 
by visiting:  www.leginto.ca.gov and clicking on “California Law”, then click on Health and 
Safety Code and type in the Section (13195).  For the regulations see Title 19, California Code of 
Regulations (CCR) Chapter 5.  Automatic Fire Extinguishing Systems.  You can view the 
regulations by visiting: http://osfm.fire.ca.gov/pdf/fireengineering/fe/AESLawsRegs.pdf.   
 
Question 2.  Can a company holding a State Fire Marshal “A” License repair fire protection 
system components? 
 
Answer:  Yes.  Pursuant to the Business and Professions Code Section 7048, a State Fire Marshal 
“A” Licensed company may repair a water based fire protection system up to the $500 limit (for 
labor, materials, and all other items) specified by the Contractors State Licensing Board. 
 
Question 3.  Can a company holding a State Fire Marshal “A” License replace fire protection 
system components? 
 
Answer:  Yes.  Pursuant to the Business and Professions Code 7048, a State Fire Marshal “A” 
Licensed company may replace water based fire protection system components up to the $500 
limit (for labor, materials, and all other items) specified by the Contractors State Licensing 
Board. 
 
Question 4.  Is a CSLB, C-16 Licensed Contractor required to follow the requirements of Title 
19 CCR Regulations adopted by the State Fire Marshal (SFM)? 
 
Answer:  Yes.  Health & Safety Code Section 13195 requires the SFM to develop regulations to 
establish and control a program for the inspection, testing, maintenance of automatic 
extinguishing systems.  H&S 13196.5 (d) exempts a specialty contractor as defined in the 
Business and Professions Code 7058 from the licensing requirements of the SFM.  
 
 

http://www.leginto.ca.gov/


For more information please visit our website http://osfm.fire.ca.gov 

 

Question 5.  Is a CSLB, C-16 Licensed Contractor required to obtain a State Fire Marshal license 
in order to conduct inspection, testing and maintenance of water based fire protection systems in 
accordance with the requirements of Title 19 CCR Regulations adopted by the State Fire Marshal 
(SFM)? 
 
Answer:  No.  Health and Safety Code 13196.5 (d) exempts a specialty contractor as defined in 
the Business and Professions Code 7058 from licensing requirements. 
 
Question 6.  What kind of license is required to measure the voltage and amp readings during a 
test of an electric fire pump? 
 
Answer:  Either a CSLB C-16 License (Fire Protection Contractor), a CSFM “A” License 
(Automatic Extinguishing Systems Concern), or a CSLB C-10 License (Electrical Contractor). 
 
Question 7.  Is the owner or his designee permitted to conduct a visual examination (inspect) a 
system in a building he or she owns? 
 
Answer:  The owner or his designee is only permitted to inspect a fire protection system in a 
building he or she owns subject to Title 19 Section 904.1(a) which requires the owner to be 
competent through training and experience. 
 
 
 
If you have further questions, please contact Supervising Deputy State Fire Marshal James 
Parsegian at james.parsegian@fire.ca.gov or (916) 445-8415. 
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