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SECTION I   General Information  
 

Company Name:  
 Note: ALL company names must be approved prior to licensing; contact (916) 445-8396 for approval  

Physical Address:  

City:  State:  Zip:  
 

Mailing Address:  

City:  State:  Zip:  
 

Contact Name:  Phone Number:  

Email Address:  
 
SECTION II   Fee Schedule 
 

 $625.00 New Application (complete all but section VII) 
 $625.00 Ownership Change (complete all but section VII)*must include notarized letter of sale 

 $325.00 Location Change (complete Section V and VII)*must include notarized signature of 
any and all partners (if applicable) agreeing to the change 

 $325.00 Upgrade (complete Section III, and V) 
 $0.00 Adding Partner (complete Section V)*must include notarized Partnership 

Agreement 
 $0.00 Deleting Partner (complete Section V)*must include notarized letter of Termination 

Agreement 
 $0.00 Name Change (complete Section V and VII) 

 
SECTION III   Application is hereby made for the following: 
 
Indicate type(s) applying for:    A   B   C   D   E   F   (see Section VIII for definition of types)  
 
Applicant to be licensed as:     Individual     Corporation     Partnership 
 
SECTION IV   Submission 
 
A completed application (on an original application form) and all required supplemental data should be 
submitted to the address listed below.  Applications will be reviewed in the order which they are received 
at the Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM).  Failure to supply all needed information (including 
signature or illegible applications) will result in the delay of processing or rejection of your application. 
Please make checks/money orders payable to CAL FIRE/OSFM and mail with application to: 
 

CAL FIRE / Office of the State Fire Marshal 
Cashiers Unit / Fire Extinguisher Program 
P.O. Box 997446 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7446 

Must submit one application per location. Physical address(es) may not be P.O. Boxes   
Please contact the Assistant Program Coordinator with questions. (916) 445-8396 

 

For Departmental Use Only 
 
PCA 59421 
Index 5942 
Source Code 125700-11 
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SECTION V 
 
I certify that I am familiar with the statutes contained in the California Health and Safety Code and 
the regulations contained in Title 19, California Code of Regulations, relating to portable fire 
extinguishers; that all statements made by me on this application are to the best of my 
knowledge true and correct.   
 
I hereby authorize the Office of the State Fire Marshal and any of his properly authorized 
employees at any time to enter, examine, inspect any premises, building, room or establishment 
used in servicing, charging or testing of portable fire extinguishers to determine compliance with 
the provisions of state law and the regulations and standards adopted by the Office of the State 
Fire Marshal. 
 
SOLE OWNER: 
 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
PARTNERSHIP    Add   Delete    
 
Each partner, including a limited partner, must sign. The printed name and signature of the previous 
individual owner, partners, or corporate officers certifying release of interest, must appear below. Please 
attach separate sheet for additional space if needed.  (Application MUST include a copy of the notarized 
Partnership Agreement or Termination of Partnership agreement) 

 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
 
CORPORATION (Application MUST include a copy of the Articles of Incorporation and/or notarized agreement by 
all partners if Location Change is requested) 
 
President 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
Vice President 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
General Manager 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
Secretary 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
Treasurer 
Print Name:  Signature:                                Date:  
 
 
 
 



 

  
FE License Page 3 of 6 Rev. 06/2013 
                                                               

 
SECTION VI    
 
The following documentation is required with ALL applications. Missing documentation will result in the 
delay of processing or rejection of your application.  
 

1. The company name must be approved by the Office of the State Fire Marshal’s Portable Fire 
Extinguisher Program before submitting this application. 

 
2. The owner must posses a valid Type 1 & 2 Certificate of Registration.  

 
Owners Certificate of Registration EE Number:  

 
3. The owner must have at least 24 months of experience with Type 1 & 2. Please provide 

written documentation of at least 24 months of experience in the servicing, maintenance, 
recharging, hydrostatic testing and installation of portable fire extinguishers.  This shall be 
accomplished by having the fire extinguisher service employer submit letter(s) on their letterhead 
attesting to this experience.  This correspondence shall indicate their length of employment, an 
estimate of the number and type of portable fire extinguishers that they have experience with and 
a statement that the individual has the necessary experience to obtain a license.  Additional 
documentation may include training certificates from the various portable fire extinguisher 
manufacturers and college classes related to Fire Science. 

 
4. The company must have a certificate of liability insurance with a minimum of $1,000,000.00 in 

general liability coverage. The company must also provide a copy of their current Worker’s 
Compensation Insurance.  Please provide proof of insurance (note that the address listed on the 
coverage must match the physical address listed on this application). Also, please list “Office of 
the State Fire Marshal” as the Certificate Holder. 

 
5. If applicable, the company must have a local business license from the city/county of physical 

location. Please provide a copy of this license (note that the address listed on the license must 
match the physical address listed on this application). If not applicable, provide written 
documentation proving that the city/county does not require a business license.  

 
6. The company must have a Board of Equalization Resale License. Please provide a copy of 

this license (note that the address listed on the license must match the physical address listed on 
this application).      Resale Permit #__________________ 

 
7. Please provide a list of technicians (include name, EE number, and Type held).  Please attach 

separate sheet for additional space if needed.  Please provide a photo copy of each technician’s 
current Certificate of Registration ID card (front and back). 

 
Name:  EE Number:                                Type:  
 
Name:  EE Number:                                Type:  
 
Name:  EE Number:                                Type:  
 
Name:  EE Number:                                Type:  
 
Name:  EE Number:                                Type:  
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SECTION VII    
 
The following section is for Name/Location changes only.  
 

1. List new company name/address 
 

New Company Name:  
 Note: ALL company names must be approved prior to licensing; contact (916) 445-8396 for approval 

New Physical 
Address: 

 

City:  State:  Zip:  
 

2. The company must have a certificate of liability insurance with a minimum of $1,000,000.00 in 
general liability coverage. The company must also provide a copy of their current Worker’s 
Compensation Insurance.  Please provide proof of insurance with the new name/address.* 

 
3. If applicable, the company must have a local business license from the city/county of location. 

Please provide the license with the new name/location If not applicable, provide written 
documentation proving that the city/county does not require a business license.* 

 
4. The company must have a Board of Equalization Resale Permit. Please provide a copy of this 

license with the new name/location.* 
 
*All documentation requested for Name or Location Changes MUST have the updated name and address on them 
at the time submitted.  Failure to provide necessary documentation will result in immediate denial of request.  A 
notarized agreement letter signed by each partner must be provided for all Location Change applications or 
Partnership Change applications. 
 
 
 
 
IMPORTANT NOTICE: 

(1) This application will not be accepted without the appropriate non-refundable fee.  All items must be 
completed.  An incomplete application could be the basis for denial of a license. 

(2) WHEN FILED WITH AN APPLICATION, ALL DOCUMENTATION PROVIDED BECOMES THE PROPERTY OF 
THE OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE MARSHAL AND WILL BE RETAINED FOR OUR RECORDS.  

(3) The Office of the State Fire Marshal will verify each piece of documentation that is submitted as proof of 
experience. Any misinformation or deception will be grounds for denial.  If the OSFM does not believe that 
you possess the appropriate experience and training, your application will be denied.  The preceding 
required information is related only to the experience qualification requirements and the balance of the 
license application would still have to be completed in its entirety. 
 
 (4) Per the California Code of Regulations, Title 19, Chapter 3, Section 560(h) the fee for a second and/or 
each subsequent re-inspection will be an additional $200.00 charge, due prior to the inspection being 
completed. 
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SECTION VIII   Definition of Types 
 
Type A  The classification of license (595.5 (a) (1)) to service, recharge, inspect, and conduct 

hydrostatic tests on any or all type of portable fire extinguishers. Includes all service and tests 
permitted for B, C, D, E and F licenses. This includes halogenated agent fire extinguishers 
six-year tear down, hydrostatic tests of high-pressure fire extinguisher cylinders as well as 
being a D.O.T. approved cylinder requalification facility for testing D.O.T. low-pressure fire 
extinguisher specification cylinders. An “A” license must possess all necessary service 
manuals, tools, parts and equipment to perform necessary tests and service. 
 

Type B The classification of license (595.5 (a) (2)) to perform maintenance and recharging of water 
based fire extinguishers and external maintenance of carbon dioxide fire extinguishers 
 

Type C The classification of license (595.5 (a) (3)) to conduct hydrostatic tests of low-pressure fire 
extinguisher cylinders. A portable fire extinguisher concern possessing this class of license 
shall be a D.O.T. approved cylinder re-qualification facility if D.O.T. specification cylinders are 
tested. 
 

Type D The classification of license (595.5 (a) (4)) to perform maintenance and recharging of dry 
chemical, dry powder and external maintenance of halogenated agent fire extinguishers. 
 

Type E The classification of license (595.5 (a) (5)) to conduct hydrostatic tests of high pressure fire 
extinguisher cylinders, and perform internal maintenance and recharging of carbon dioxide 
fire extinguishers. A portable fire extinguisher concern possessing this class of license shall 
be a D.O.T. approved cylinder requalification facility. 
 

Type F The classification of license (595.5 (a) (6)) to perform internal maintenance recharge and 
recover halogenated agents from portable fire extinguishers. A portable fire extinguisher 
concern possessing this license shall have a listed Halon 1211 closed recovery system. 
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SECTION IX  
 
The following are additional documents needed for specific application types 
 
Type Additional Documentation 

 
A, E Attach a copy of current D.O.T. Certification Letter along with D.O.T. Retester Identification 

Number (RIN) 
 

A, F Attach a copy of the Certificate for the halogenated processor that bears the company 
name. (i.e. GETZ Certificate, etc.) 
 

A, C, E Describe method used to hydrostatic test low-pressure non-D.O.T. specification fire 
extinguisher cylinders.  
 

B, C, D,  
E, F 

Per section 595.5 (d) Every licensed concern that is not authorized to perform specific acts 
shall have on file with the Office of the State Fire Marshal reciprocal letters of agreement to 
perform those specific acts from licensed concerns who are authorized. All required 
reciprocal letters of agreement shall be submitted to the Office of the State Fire Marshal 
with each original, renewal, and status change application for license. Any changes to 
reciprocal letters of agreement shall be reported to the Office of the State Fire Marshal 
within 15 days of the change. Please provide reciprocal agreements for the maintenance 
your company will not be licensed for. They must include:  
 

1. Maintenance and recharging of water based fire extinguishers and external 
maintenance of carbon dioxide fire extinguishers. 

 
2. Conduct hydrostatic tests of low-pressure fire extinguisher cylinders.  

 
3. Maintenance and recharging of dry chemical, dry powder fire extinguishers. 

 
4. Hydrostatic tests of high pressure fire extinguisher cylinders, and perform internal 

maintenance and recharging of carbon dioxide fire extinguishers from fire 
extinguisher concern possessing this class of license shall be a D.O.T. approved 
cylinder requalification facility. 

 
5. Internal-External maintenance recharge and recover halogenated agents from 

portable fire extinguishers. A fire extinguisher concern possessing this license shall 
have a listed Halatron closed recovery system. 
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