CAL FIRE's Land Use Planning Program Assists local governments (cities and counties) throughout California as they address the unreasonable risk from wildfire by planning for new development in the State Responsibility Areas and Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones.


Mission Statement

The Wildfire Hazard Legislation Safety Element Planning and Zoning Law requires that cities and counties adopt a comprehensive general plan with various elements including a safety element for protection of the community from unreasonable risks associated with various hazards, including wildfires (CGC 65302.5)  CAL FIRE has a long history of knowing the importance of planning and its importance to wildland fire safety and risk mitigation. Land use planning incorporates safety element requirements for State Responsibility Areas (SRA) and Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones (VHFHS Zones); requires local general plan safety elements, upon the next revision of the housing element on or after January 1, 2014, to be reviewed and updated as necessary to address the risk of fire in the SRA and VHFHS Zones; requires each safety element update to take into account the most recent version of the Office of Planning and Research's "Fire Hazard Planning" document; and requires the Office of Planning and Research (OPR) to include a reference to the provisions of SB 1241 (Kehoe, 2012), as well as any other materials related to fire hazards or fire safety deemed appropriate for reference.

Statewide Program Administrator

Vacant 
Deputy Chief

(Sacramento) Land Use Planning Program

Rudy Baltazar - Assistant Chief
Rudy.Baltazar@fire.ca.gov

Shelley Redden - Battalion Chief Shelley.Redden@fire.ca.gov

Gene Potkey - Battalion Chief
Gene.Potkey@fire.ca.gov

Steven Barkley - Battalion Chief                                  Steven.Barkley@fire.ca.gov

Kevin Lindo - Battalion Chief Kevin.Lindo@fire.ca.gov

Shane Galvez - Battalion Chief Shane.Galvez@fire.ca.gov

Bryan Carter - Battalion Chief Bryan.Carter@fire.ca.gov

Anthony Massucco - Battalion Chief Anthony.Massucco@fire.ca.gov

Northern Region Contacts

Shane Vargas - Battalion Chief                          
Shane.Vargas@fire.ca.gov
(530) 410-4225 Cell 

James Ausboe - Fire Captain                              James.Ausboe@fire.ca.gov  (530)-410-5592                    Del Norte, Humboldt, Mendocino, Siskiyou, Shasta, Trinity, Tehama, Glenn, Colusa, Lake, Butte, Modoc, Lassen, & Plumas

Donnie Privett - Fire Captain                                Donnie.Privett@fire.ca.gov  (530)-410-5142                  Sonoma, Marin, Napa, Yolo, Solano, Sutter, Yuba, Sierra, Nevada, Placer, El Dorado, Sacramento, Amador, Alpine, & San Joaquin                                    

Malcolm Kennedy - Fire Captain 
Malcolm.Kennedy@fire.ca.gov(530)-360-5291                  San Francisco, San Mateo, Contra Costa, Alameda, Santa Cruz, & Santa Clara                                                          

Southern Region Contacts

Jose Quintana - Battalion Chief
San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura  Jose.Quintana@fire.ca.gov
(559) 243-8992 Office
(951) 201-9918 Cell

Kyle Oneil - Fire Captain
Stanislaus, Calaveras, Tuolumne, Merced, Mariposa, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, Kern, Monterey, San Benito, San Joaquin
Kyle.Oneil@fire.ca.gov
(559) 243-8993 Office
(559) 400-2464 Cell 

Brian Olsen  - Fire Captain
San Diego, Imperial
Brian.Olsen@fire.ca.gov
(951) 320-6122 Office
(951) 235-1257 Cell

Joe Kennedy -Fire Captain                                              San Bernardino, Inyo, Mono                                              Joseph.Kennedy@fire.ca.gov                                            (951)-233-7426  

Kevin Merkh - Fire Captain
Los Angeles                                                                    Kevin.Merkh@fire.ca.gov                                                  (951)-201-1824 

Technical Guidance

Fire Hazard Planning: General Plan Technical Advice Series
Governor's Office of Planning and Research

A Handbook for Fire Planning in the General Plan (Coming Soon)
California Board of Forestry

2017 General Plan Guidelines
Governor’s Office of Planning and Research

Firewise USA - Residents reducing wildfire risk

California is prone to the threat of wildfires, there are things you can do to protect your neighborhood, home, and family. Visit the links below to learn how.

Firewise in California

Interactive Map of Firewise Communities in Good Standing

State Liaison Contacts

 

 

Subscribe For Updates

Subscribe to receive updated information on Land Use Planning:

Land use planning