CAL FIRE's Land Use Planning Program Assists local governments (cities and counties) throughout California as they address the unreasonable risk from wildfire by planning for new development in the State Responsibility Areas and Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones.


Mission Statement

The Wildfire Hazard Legislation Safety Element Planning and Zoning Law requires that cities and counties adopt a comprehensive general plan with various elements including a safety element for protection of the community from unreasonable risks associated with various hazards, including wildfires (CGC 65302.5)  CAL FIRE has a long history of knowing the importance of planning and its importance to wildland fire safety and risk mitigation. Land use planning incorporates safety element requirements for State Responsibility Areas (SRA) and Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones (VHFHS Zones); requires local general plan safety elements, upon the next revision of the housing element on or after January 1, 2014, to be reviewed and updated as necessary to address the risk of fire in the SRA and VHFHS Zones; requires each safety element update to take into account the most recent version of the Office of Planning and Research's "Fire Hazard Planning" document; and requires the Office of Planning and Research (OPR) to include a reference to the provisions of SB 1241 (Kehoe, 2012), as well as any other materials related to fire hazards or fire safety deemed appropriate for reference.

Statewide Program Administrator

Matt Damon 
Deputy Chief
Matt.Damon@fire.ca.gov

(Sacramento) Land Use Planning Program

Gene Potkey - Battalion Chief
Gene.Potkey@fire.ca.gov
(559) 400-2479 Cell

Vacant - Battalion Chief

Northern Region Contacts

Shane Vargas - Battalion Chief                          
Shane.Vargas@fire.ca.gov
(530) 410-4225 Cell 

Anthony Massucco - Fire Captain
San Mateo, Sonoma, Marin, Alameda, Contra Costa
Anthony.Massucco@fire.ca.gov
(530) 360-5291 Cell

Shane Galvez - Fire Captain                                    Butte, Del Norte, Humboldt, Yolo, Lake, Napa, Solano, Colusa, Mendocino, Shasta, Trinity, Siskiyou, Glenn, Tehama                                        Shane.Galvez@fire.ca.gov
(530) 410-5592 Cell

Bryan Carter - Fire Captain 
Amador, El Dorado, Sacramento, Alpine, Santa Cruz, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Nevada, Placer, Yuba, Sierra, Santa Clara, San Joaquin                       Bryan.Carter@fire.ca.gov                                                  (530)-410-5142 Cell                                       

Southern Region Contacts

Jose Quintana - Battalion Chief
San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura  Jose.Quintana@fire.ca.gov
(559) 243-8992 Office
(951) 201-9918 Cell

Kevin Lindo - Fire Captain
Stanislaus, Calaveras, Tuolumne, Merced, Mariposa, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, Kern, Monterey, San Benito, San Joaquin
Kevin.Lindo@fire.ca.gov
(559) 243-8993 Office
(559) 400-2464 Cell 

Shelley Redden - Fire Captain
Riverside, Orange 
Shelley.Redden@fire.ca.gov
(951) 320-2068 Office
(909) 677-3408 Cell

Steven (Brian) Barkley - Fire Captain
San Diego, Imperial
Steven.Barkley@fire.ca.gov
(951) 320-6122 Office
(951) 235-1257 Cell

Joe Kennedy -Fire Captain                                              San Bernardino, Inyo, Mono                                              Joseph.Kennedy@fire.ca.gov                                            (951)-233-7426  

Kevin Merkh - Fire Captain
Los Angeles                                                                    Kevin.Merkh@fire.ca.gov                                                  (951)-201-1824 

Subscribe For Updates

Subscribe to receive updated information on Land Use Planning:

Land use planning

Technical Guidance

Fire Hazard Planning: General Plan Technical Advice Series
Governor's Office of Planning and Research

A Handbook for Fire Planning in the General Plan (Coming Soon)
California Board of Forestry

2017 General Plan Guidelines
Governor’s Office of Planning and Research

Firewise USA - Residents reducing wildfire risk

California is prone to the threat of wildfires, there are things you can do to protect your neighborhood, home, and family. Visit the links below to learn how.

Firewise in California

Interactive Map of Firewise Communities in Good Standing

State Liaison Contacts