CAL FIRE's Land Use Planning Program Assists local governments (cities and counties) throughout California as they address the unreasonable risk from wildfire by planning for new development in the State Responsibility Areas and Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones.


Mission Statement

The Wildfire Hazard Legislation Safety Element Planning and Zoning Law requires that cities and counties adopt a comprehensive general plan with various elements including a safety element for protection of the community from unreasonable risks associated with various hazards, including wildfires (CGC 65302.5)  CAL FIRE has a long history of knowing the importance of planning and its importance to wildland fire safety and risk mitigation. Land use planning incorporates safety element requirements for State Responsibility Areas (SRA) and Very High Fire Hazard Severity Zones (VHFHS Zones); requires local general plan safety elements, upon the next revision of the housing element on or after January 1, 2014, to be reviewed and updated as necessary to address the risk of fire in the SRA and VHFHS Zones; requires each safety element update to take into account the most recent version of the Office of Planning and Research's "Fire Hazard Planning" document; and requires the Office of Planning and Research (OPR) to include a reference to the provisions of SB 1241 (Kehoe, 2012), as well as any other materials related to fire hazards or fire safety deemed appropriate for reference.

Statewide Program Administrator

Matt Damon 
Deputy Chief
Matt.Damon@fire.ca.gov

Northern Region Contacts

Nick Wallingford - Battalion Chief 
Nevada-Yuba-Placer, Amador - El Dorado -Alpine- Sacramento Counties
Nick.Wallingford@fire.ca.gov
(530) 410-5142 Cell 

Shane Vargas - Fire Captain
Butte, Tehama, Glenn, Plumas, Lassen, Modoc, Shasta, Trinity, Siskiyou, Humboldt and Del Norte Counties
Shane.Vargas@fire.ca.gov
(530) 410-4225 Cell

Chase Beckman - Fire Captain
Santa Clara, Alameda, San Mateo and Santa Cruz Counties
Chase.Beckman@fire.ca.gov
(530) 360-5291 Cell

Shane Galvez - Fire Captain
Sonoma, Lake, Napa, Solano, Yolo, Marin, Mendocino, Colusa
Shane.Galvez@fire.ca.gov
(530) 410-5592 Cell

Southern Region Contacts

Raymond Martinez - Battalion Chief
Riverside and Orange Counties
Raymond.Martinez@fire.ca.gov
(951) 320-6137 Office
(951) 235-1192 Cell

Kevin Lindo - Fire Captain
Stanislaus, Calaveras, Tuolumne, Merced, Mariposa, Madera, Fresno, Kings, Tulare, Kern, Monterey, and San Benito Counties
Kevin.Lindo@fire.ca.gov
(559) 243-8993 Office
(559) 400-2464 Cell 

Gene Potkey - Fire Captain
San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara and Ventura Counties
Gene.Potkey@fire.ca.gov
(559) 243-8992 Office
(559) 400-2479 Cell

Shelley Redden - Fire Captain
San Bernardino County
Shelley.Redden@fire.ca.gov
(951) 320-2068 Office
(909) 677-3408 Cell

Steven (Brian) Barkley - Fire Captain
San Diego and Imperial Counties
Steven.Barkley@fire.ca.gov
(951) 320-6122 Office
(951) 235-1257 Cell

Melissa Curtis - Fire Captain
Los Angeles County, Mono County, Inyo County, San Bernardino County
Melissa.Curtis@fire.ca.gov
(951) 320-6117 Office
(909) 573-7948 Cell